Nominations are open until July 15 for the Farm Bureau’s Farm Dog of the Year contest.

Farmers are invited to submit entries for the Farm Bureau’s 2023 Farm Dog of the Year contest, supported by Purina. This is the fifth year for the contest, which celebrates farm dogs and the many ways they support farmers and ranchers in producing nutritious food for families and their pets across America.

The competition opened in January and the deadline for nominations has been extended to July 15. The grand prize winner – Farm Bureau Farm Dog of the Year – will take home a year of Purina dog food and $5,000 in prize money. The winner will be recognized at a Farm Dog of the Year awards ceremony at the American Farm Bureau Federation convention in January 2023. Up to four regional finalists* will each win $1,000 in prizes .

The 2023 Farm Dog of the Year will also be featured in a professionally produced video. The Farm Dog of the Year Fit 2022 profile can be viewed at

Scientific research results from a collaboration between the Mayo Clinic and Purina reveal that interacting with pets can have beneficial health effects. For example, after spending just 20 minutes with a dog, people experienced a significant increase in levels of oxytocin, a hormone that plays a role in moderating stress. It was also associated with a decrease in heart rate and an increase in self-reported feelings of well-being. Following the interaction with the dog, people were in a more positive emotional state.

Desired attributes for Farm Dog of the Year include helpfulness to the farmer and his family, playfulness, and obedience.

Farm dog owners must be members of the Farm Bureau to enter their dogs in the contest. Potential applicants who are not Farm Bureau members can visit to find out how to become a member.

Eligibility guidelines and submission requirements are available at Farm Dog of the Year nominations, which include written answers to questions, at least one photo, and a video clip (optional).

The Farm Bureau Farm Dog of the Year contest is sponsored by the American Farm Bureau Federation.

The third annual social media contest, People’s Choice Pup, was a popular feature of the Farm Dog of the Year contest in 2022 – reaching 133,000 people – and will return in 2023.

The profiles of several dogs nominated for the competition will be shared from October, with the public invited to vote. Bragging rights and a year’s worth of Purina dog food will be awarded to the pup of the public’s choice.

About Nestlé Purina PetCare Company

Nestlé Purina PetCare creates richer lives for pets and the people who love them. Founded in 1894, Purina has helped dogs and cats live longer, healthier lives by providing science-backed nutritional innovations. Purina makes some of the most trusted and popular pet care products in the world, including Purina ONE, Pro Plan, Fancy Feast and Tidy Cats. Our more than 8,700 associates in the United States are proud of our trusted brands of pet food, treats and litter that feed 51 million dogs and 65 million cats each year. More than 500 Purina scientists, veterinarians and animal care experts guarantee our commitment to unparalleled quality and nutrition.

Purina promotes responsible pet care through our scientific research, products, and support for pet-related organizations. Over the past five years, Purina has donated more than $150 million to organizations that bring people and pets together and keep them together, as well as those that help our communities and environment thrive.

Purina is part of Nestlé, a global leader in nutrition, health and wellness. For more information, visit or subscribe here for the latest news from Purina.

About the American Federation of Agricultural Bureaux

The AFBF is the nation’s largest general farm organization with member families in all 50 states and Puerto Rico. Learn more at or follow @FarmBureau on Twitter or @farmbureau on Instagram.

*For purposes of this contest, the regions are as follows: Midwest Region: Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, North Dakota, Nebraska, Ohio, South Dakota, Wisconsin; Northeast Region—Connecticut, Delaware, Massachusetts, Maryland, Maine, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, West Virginia; Southern Region: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia; and Western Region – Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, New Mexico, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, Washington, Wyoming.


mike tomko
Director, Communications
(202) 406-3642
[email protected]

Bailey Corvin
Media Relations Specialist
(202) 406-3643
[email protected]

Back to the press room

About Wilhelmina Go

Check Also

Lawsuit: 2 Wyoming mentally ill dead, proceedings skipped

By MEAD GRUVERAssociated press CHEYENNE, Wyoming (AP) — Two patients at Wyoming State Hospital died …